Bitrate check

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    34SP.com Forum Index // Windows Help
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
philr
Super Member
Super Member


Joined: 05 Nov 2003
Posts: 990
Location: Exeter

PostPosted: Wed Sep 20, 2006 3:13 pm    Post subject: Bitrate check Reply with quote
Can a Windows user out there do me a quick favour and tell me what bitrate you get with this online radio station: http://mediaweb.musicradio.com/playlist.asx?show=14

According to their website the station is broadcast at 128 kbps, but all I'm getting is 35 kbps (despite the 2 mbps broadband connection). I mentioned this to them and they said it's probably because I'm using a Mac.
_________________
Phil Ronan
フィリップ・ローナン
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
fov
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 27 Dec 2004
Posts: 282

PostPosted: Wed Sep 20, 2006 4:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
i was getting about 128kbs...

Not what you wanted to hear i guess.
_________________
Cheap SSL Certs
Web based FTP
FTPPlanet.co.uk
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
philr
Super Member
Super Member


Joined: 05 Nov 2003
Posts: 990
Location: Exeter

PostPosted: Wed Sep 20, 2006 4:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
Drat

Now where did I put my Bill Gates voodoo doll....
_________________
Phil Ronan
フィリップ・ローナン
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
swampmonster
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 14 May 2004
Posts: 366

PostPosted: Wed Sep 20, 2006 7:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
crystal clear 128, very good reception.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thetribe
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator


Joined: 23 Mar 2002
Posts: 466
Location: Ashington, Northumberland. UK

PostPosted: Wed Sep 20, 2006 10:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
I know you asked for Windows users but -> iMac G4, "up to 8mb" broadband connection (getting roughly 4mb to 5mb), using VLC player and properties is reporting 32kbps and the tracks are skipping all over the place.
_________________
Cheers.
Phil
http://www.ashington-ne.co.uk | http://www.anfieldstats.co.uk
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
say_ten
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator


Joined: 03 Apr 2001
Posts: 1124
Location: Birmingham, UK

PostPosted: Thu Sep 21, 2006 7:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote
Probably downgrading to MP3 then.
_________________
With regards,

Say_Ten

http://www.sayten.34sp.com/ | http://www.multiplay.co.uk/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message ICQ Number
philr
Super Member
Super Member


Joined: 05 Nov 2003
Posts: 990
Location: Exeter

PostPosted: Thu Sep 21, 2006 8:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote
It looks like Windows Media Player is upgrading the connection somehow. I fed the NSC file for this stream through nscdec and it identified itself as "32 kbps, 32 kHz, stereo 1-pass CBR". The source of the 128k stream is completely hidden.
_________________
Phil Ronan
フィリップ・ローナン
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Post new topic   Reply to topic    34SP.com Forum Index // Windows Help All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group